Georgia Association of Public Safety Communications Officials

Georgia APCO Committees

The Georgia APCO Board is excited to announce that our new and existing Chapter Committees are accepting applications for new members.  Please use the Committee Signup button below to submit your committee application. 

Bylaws [Chair: Daniel Dunlap] – The scope of the Bylaws Committee is to maintain the Association bylaws and policy manual to reflect the actions of governing bodies and review chapter governance documents.

Compassionate Care [Chair: Danielle Rhodes] – The Compassionate Care Committee is charged with outreach efforts of support and encouragement to PSAPs who experience loss or tragic incidents.

Membership [Chair: Catherine Ayers] – The scope of this committee is to support the membership at the chapter level by building relationships with members and chapter officers. This committee will help with new initiatives that impact the membership, engaging in outreach and chapter engagement activities, etc.

Regional Ambassador Program [Chair: Corey King] – to establish an open line of communication between and among chapter membership and its Board of Officers; to facilitate the education of other public safety communications personnel with regards to APCO, International and its Georgia Chapter in terms of mission, purpose, and benefits; to recruit other public safety communications personnel to join APCO and take advantage of the training, networking, and services that we provide; to establish a sense of community among public safety communications personnel in an effort to share ideas, programs, and resources with each other; and to assist the chapter’s leadership with setting the organizations legislative agenda and establishing official positions on issues affecting emergency communications in Georgia.

Professional Development [Chair: Dustin Bucker – This committee assists in selecting quality program topics and content for the educational tracks at conference and training events. Georgia APCO shall be authorized to terminate the committee membership of an individual for cause, which may include, but is not limited to:

1. Failure to actively participate in the committee proceedings or responsibilities.
2. Failure to attend 50% of meetings during a calendar year.
3. Failure to respond to all communication attempts by the committee liaison/secretary.
4. Failure to complete and return required APCO agreement forms, including, but not limited to property rights and/or copyright agreement.

Finance [Chair: Daniel Dunlap] – The scope of the Finance Committee is to review financial reports regularly, issue quarterly updates to the Board of Officers, advise the Board of Directors on the proposed budget, and make recommendations on other financial matters as appropriate.

Outreach (Website, social media, newsletter) [Chair: SaBrina Woodall] – This committee is charged with the regular update and maintenance of the Chapter’s online web presence, social media accounts, newsletters, and other digital media. The committee is also responsible for publishing information, assisting with chapter engagement, and media/public relations.

Technology [Chair: James Moss] – The Technology Committee will research and recommend positions and strategies concerning all aspects of communications center technology. This includes analysis of current and future trends and developments to advise membership on technical inquiries. Members should have technical expertise in Information Technology, PSAP technology and equipment, Cyber Security, Networking, etc.

ProCHRT [Chair: Barry Woodward] – The scope of the Pro-CHRT Committee is to champion the professionalism of the public safety telecommunicator in all disciplines. The committee will gather information on best practices in various fields of public safety communications in areas like training, health & stress management, and quality assurance. The committee will also recognize the work of communications officers on our social media platforms.

Historical [Chair Ed Marsden] – The scope of the Historical Committee is to preserve APCO history, by collecting and displaying documents, memoirs, and artifacts at Chapter conferences and events.

Credentials [Chair: Lynn Smith] – The scope of the Credentials Committee is to review qualifications of association members who are presenting themselves as candidates for elected office in the association or are nominated for life member and senior member status. Members of this committee are composed of past presidents. 

Commercial Advisory Committee [Chair: Amy Jenkins] – The scope of the Commercial Advisory Committee is to provide guidance and support to staff on commercial membership matters and promote commercial membership among peers and non-member participants at chapter events.

Peer Support [Chair: Pamela Waters-Dial] – This committee will join efforts with peer support teams and networks across the state to facilitate coordination and response to requests, peer support training opportunities, and outreach to agencies in need. Members of this committee should have a passion for mental health awareness in public safety communications.